Notable YA reads of Jan/Feb

January

The Impossible Knife of Memory

Laurie Halse Anderson is an auto-buy author for me, and when I found out The Impossible Knife of Memory was released earlier in AU than the US, I tracked it down quick smart. And it did not disappoint. Anderson writes in a way one can only be envious of. The book itself is heartbreaking and marvelous, bringing light to the not-all-that-understood issue of post-traumatic stress disorder and the impact it has on families.

February

The Intern

Gabrielle Tozer‘s The Intern is a heartfelt and easy read. I really enjoyed Josie’s voice; she’s a kind, genuine character who has a refreshing outlook on the world. I was also surprised at how I wanted to read more about the magazine world (I really thought I wouldn’t be interested in this).

The Last Girl

The Last Girl by Michael Adams  is intense and action-packed. And such a cool concept. Recently I’ve been contemplating just how much I want social media in my life. Coming from an applied linguistics background (nerd alert), I’ve always been interested in how the amount of input we receive (especially via the interwebz) can manipulate our thoughts and language, to the point that it actually scares me a little. This book did not put my fears at ease! Looking forward to the sequel coming out in March.

Leave a Reply

