the first time I saw snow (on the way to Cappadocia)

Location: Cappadocia, Turkey
Year: 2009

I’m pretty sure I will forever be remembered as the annoying Australian who wouldn’t shut up about seeing snow on the bus ride from Antakya to Cappadocia. To be fair, it snowed once in my hometown (July, 1996 ) in the Adelaide Hills, but it was pretty much glorified frost that lasted a few more hours than usual. It wasn’t cold enough to snow when I made it to Goreme, a small town in Cappadocia, Turkey, but one day I went out to the Ilhara Valley, and that’s when I got to take my first step on snow.

Leave a Reply

