Notable YA reads of March

I didn’t read as many YA books as I usually would this month because I spent most of it devouring the 800+ pages of Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries, which I thought was brilliant despite being literary fiction ;-).

I also didn’t get a chance to read any 2014 releases this month, but I finally got around to reading:

The Messenger

You thought I’d have learned my lesson after The Book Thief (which I avoided for years because everyone talked about it so much and then ended up LOVING). I put The Messenger off for so long too, and it makes me sad to think I could’ve experienced it so many years before now. Oh well. I love Zusak’s writing. I love his characters. This story was remarkable. (As a side note: this is what I wish all ‘New Adult’ (still don’t know how I feel about labelling this category) was like – not the smutty crap being pumped out in bucket loads right now. It’s in the same vein as Raw Blue by Kristy Eagar, Holier Than Thou by Laura Buzo and The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta)

My second recommendation that I read in March is:

These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)

It wasn’t perfect, but overall I quite liked the story and the world in which it is set (think Titanic meets Across the Universe by Beth Revis – at least that’s what I was imagining). It was a page turner for me. I’m really interested to see how the trilogy works with having different main characters for each story (or so it seems), as I’m probably a bit over trilogies now.

Leave a Reply

